No Such Thing as One Good Thing

Our blogging challenge for Week 1 was fairly simple. Bloggers were given a choice of the following:

  1. Blog about the small good moments during our teaching day.
  2. Blog about a day in our teaching life– from start to finish.

At first, I thought I would choose the latter option, so I started keeping a mental journal of my day which usually begins around 5 a.m. and tapers off around midnight (or later). As I began drafting, I started wondering if my day looked any different than another teacher’s day. I read the blogs of my #MTBoS colleagues and realized that indeed, our days looked quite similar. The last thing I wanted to do was add another “Day in the Life” post to a blogosphere that was already full of them.

So, I started looking for small moments– things that bring me joy– in my classroom. My mind was filled with ideas based on what I already knew of my students. The 21 little human beings who have only been on the planet seven or eight years bring me joy every single day. Even on the hardest, most trying days, there’s always something that makes me smile. Maybe not in the moment, but later. Perhaps during my drive home or at night after everyone has gone to sleep, the memory of something that someone said or did tempers my frustration with a happiness that only the heart of a teacher can understand.

One morning this week as I pondered the content of my morning message to students, I thought, “Wouldn’t it be fun to find out what they think brings me joy?” So, that’s exactly what I did. Here’s what they came up with:

photo 1

I know it’s hard to read their responses, so I’ll list them below (spelled correctly) 🙂

  • purple
  • flowers
  • smiles, hugs, and when we do the right thing
  • making cakes
  • me
  • your mom and dad
  • focused brains
  • questions and mistakes
  • teaching and learning
  • strawberries
  • us
  • flower perfume
  • people
  • a little of everything but not sports
  • pictures that we draw
  • when we have growth mindsets
  • people caring about each other
  • design
  • looking up cake recipes on the internet
  • the sea
  • sandalwood (This one was completely random–I have absolutely no clue where she got this from!)

Even more delightful than reading their responses was watching them think of their responses. I regret not taking a picture or video of them huddled around the easel discussing/debating my passions 🙂

You can easily understand why I can never see myself doing anything but this. I readily admit that I couldn’t find “one good thing” to blog about.

I found twenty-one.

5 thoughts on “No Such Thing as One Good Thing

  1. Jen Bearden says:

    Um…yeah, you’re destined to be a blogging superstar. I love the sound of your words in my ears (ok, I guess it’s my head since I don’t read your posts out loud–LOL); you truly have a gift. This was a great post and you’re absolutely right–there isn’t just one good thing about being a teacher. I love this question and just might have to steal it. Would be interesting if the things I see as important or that bring me joy are the same messages my students are receiving. Keep on writing, Mona–I want to keep reading!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simon Gregg says:

    That’s definitely a refreshing alternative to lots of day-in-the-lifes, Mona! And it’s such a multi-sensory list! It makes me wonder what my students would write – and whether I give them enough hints about the outside-the-classroom me to give them enough material! It’s this kind of personal detail that helps kids to see us as human and relate to us, and makes all other lessons more real. It was good too to see hints of your teaching, like questions and mistakes, in there too. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  3. John Gibson says:

    I love what you wrote, and I’m really glad my blog post came shortly after yours. This was a great reminder that I need step back more often and record the wonderful things my students say and do when working together.

    Like

  4. primemathblog says:

    I love how amazing your classroom community sounds just from their responses! Not only have you formed a personal connection with these kids, but they are totally on board as learners…”focused brains”, “questions and mistakes”, “growth mindset” – so awesome to hear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

